Countries whose nationals need not obtain a visa for stays of 3 months or less

Nationals of the following countries are not required to obtain a visa for stays in France of 3 months or less.

Nationals of the following countries need not obtain a visa for short stays in France:

1 - Citizens of the European Union, the European Economic Area, and Switzerland.

2 - Nationals of the following countries, regardless of the purpose of their visit: Albania,* Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Barbados, Bosnia,* Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Malaysia, Mauritius, Monaco, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Panama, Paraguay, San Marino, Vatican City, Seychelles, Taiwan (passport must include identity card number), Uruguay, Montenegro,* Macedonia,* and Serbia.*
(* exemption applies only to holders of biometric passports)

3 - Nationals of the following countries: Australia, Brazil, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Singapore, United States, and Venezuela. If the traveler will engage in paid employment while in France, the exemption applies only if he or she presents evidence of work authorization.

4 - Holders of passports from the special administrative regions of Hong Kong (People’s Republic of China) and Macao (People’s Republic of China). The exemption does not apply if the traveler will engage in paid employment in France.
5 - Holders of a valid French residency permit.

6 - Holders of a residency permit issued by a state that has implemented the Schengen agreements; holders of certain travel documents issued by EU member states.

7 - Holders of the "British Nationals Overseas" passport.

Special cases: Journalists on assignment, scientists, and artists intending to engage in paid employment in France must obtain a visa.

Source: French Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs (, September 1, 2011.